Wild Bird


The incomparable groove of Keziah Jones, the warm voice and mythic slides of Ben Harper and the profound mystique of maalem gnaoui Mahmoud Guinea in a single project : afro-gnawa soul has finally revived and fused with original blues, replacing the double bass and electric bass by a heavily amplified guembri. Sounds crazy ? Not for Idriss El Mehdi, who in his first LP « Wild Bird » forges blues-funk of a rare modernity and finesse that pays homage to the ancestral music of descendants of African and North American slaves.

Musical maturity arrives with the debut album, « Wild Bird ». He decides to  harness his passion for American Folk music and launches the adventure,  recruiting talented musicians with whom he arranges every song of the record one by one; the fruits of a rich rhythmic exploration on original themes.

The young man with a glowing aura sings his personal lyrics with a strong husky voice, often addressing social themes. The album opens with the song « No Problem », the hit song written by Pierre Grillet (« Madame Rêve » de Bashung, Nicoletta…), an ode to utopian equality with an afrobeat groove imposed on it. There is also a second version of this song later on in the recording with the legendary Tony Allen.

« Kill the Beast » follows, a fiery message against the powers that be of this world, in a folk tradition refreshed by a swaying rhythm.

A powerful intro with African rhythms and cosmic voices in the Floydian tradition announces « Wild Bird », a magnificient title with a pop spirit where one barely notices the guembri that melts into the pure arrangements.

Then a little detour with a beguiling song « Guembaia » between rock, Brazilian and gnaoua trance with lyrics by Teofilo Chantre, Milo Lee and the ancestral Bambara chants.

Afrobeat returns in force with a double title « Piano for Kayi » and « Goddamn the Pusher Man » that starts with piano and follows with a captivating groove, about an accursed dealer, with mischievous references to Easy Rider and Nina Simone.

The record finale is with the bluesy and spiritual « One O One », a soft ballade written by Lyly M, Idriss’ sister, which closes the audacious, rich and eclectic album. It captures spot on the identity of Idriss El Mehdi, with his atypical journey and his incredible talent.

Wild Bird

Le groove imparable de Keziah Jones, la voix chaude et les slides mythiques de Ben Harper et la mystique profonde du maalem gnaoui Mahmoud Guinea dans un seul et même projet : l’âme afro-gnaoua renoue enfin avec le blues originel en remplaçant la contrebasse et la basse électrique par un guembri amplifié à outrance. Pari fou ? Pas pour Idriss El Mehdi, qui nous propose dans son premier LP “Wild Bird” un blues-funk d’une finesse et d’une modernité rares, qui rend hommage à la musique ancestrale des descendants d’esclaves d’Afrique et d’Amérique du Nord.

La maturité musicale arrive avec cet opus intitulé sobrement «Wild Bird». Il décide d’assumer sa passion pour la folk song américaine et se lance dans l’aventure, recrutant des musiciens de talent avec qui il arrange une à une les chansons du disque, fruit d’un long travail de recherche rythmique et de thèmes originaux.

Le jeune homme au regard lumineux chante d’une voix rauque et étouffée des textes personnels, prenant souvent position sur des thèmes sociaux. L’album s’ouvre sur « No problem », titre phare écrit par Pierre Grillet (« Madame Rêve » de Bashung, Nicoletta…), ode utopique à l’égalité, qui impose d’emblée le groove afrobeat du projet. On retrouve une seconde version de cette chanson plus tard dans le disque avec le maître du genre, Tony Allen.

Vient ensuite « Kill The Beast », brûlot engagé contre les puissants de ce monde, dans une tradition folk portée par un rythme chaloupé qui rafraîchit le genre.

Une intro brute, entre rythmes africains et voix cosmiques, dans la tradition Floydienne, annonce « Wild Bird », magnifique titre à l’esprit pop, où l’on reconnaît à peine le guembri, fondu dans des arrangements épurés.

On fait ensuite un petit détour vers un morceau déroutant, « Guembaia », entre rock, mpb brésilienne et transe gnaoua, sur un texte de Teofilo Chantre, Milo Lee et des chants ancestraux en Bambara.

L’afrobeat revient en force avec le double titre « Piano for Kayi » et « Goddamn The Pusher Man », qui démarre au piano et se poursuit sur un groove entêtant, sur le thème du dealer maudit, dans un clin d’oeil malicieux à Easy Rider et Nina Simone.

Le disque s’achève sur le bluesy et spirituel « One O One », douce ballade écrite par Lyly M, la soeur d’Idriss, qui clôture un LP audacieux, riche et éclectique, à l’image d’Idriss El Mehdi, de son parcours atypique et de son incroyable talent.