Bio

Raised in a family of music lovers with a Franco-Moroccan heritage, right from his childhood, Idriss El Mehdi has the opportunity to bathe in classical arab and western, jazz and rock music.

A talented pianist, he accompanies local singers in Casablanca’s rare jazz clubs.

Both sides of his culture are musical. As a young man, he benefits from a world-class education in the most prestigious American Schools of Music in France (American School of Modern Music, Bill Evans Piano Academy), always maintaining a strong link with his native Morocco. Ten years later, he has a decisive experience that will change the course of his life and opens the doors to popular sufi mysticism : he meets the renowned maalem gnaoui Mahmoud Guinea.

Idriss El Mehdi learns to play the guembri and forges his musical identity: « As a pianist by vocation, for so many years I was used to having 88 musical notes at my fingertips to expess myself, now I found myself faced with only three simple strings made out of goat’s gut. And in those strings found the whole history of music since its creation».

The young man gains experience with different bands moving between afro-jazz, lyrical songs, and collaborations with big names in French Pop and Rock (Axel Bauer, Calogero, Julie Zenatti, Hubert Mounier…) and also internationally (Cerrone, Luz Casal, Gary Christian…).

The native from Casablanca draws on his multiple identities, between his African roots and his Rock and Blues Anglo-Saxon musical culture, and builds the essential material for the composition of this first album « Wild Bird ». From there he develops an acoustic blues spirit and adds rhythm. He intelligently mixes a deep bass into his grainy sound, along with vertiginous guitar slides, a touch of minimalist piano, all harmonised by a strong rhythmic beat.

Bio

Elevé dans une famille de mélomanes, avec une double culture franco-marocaine, Idriss El Mehdi a la chance de baigner dès son jeune âge  dans la musique classique arabe et occidentale, le jazz et le rock.

Pianiste de talent, il accompagne les ténors du coin dans les rares clubs de jazz de Casablanca.

Sa double culture est aussi musicale. Jeune homme, il suit un parcours brillant dans les prestigieuses écoles américaines de musique en France (American School of Modern Music, Bill Evans Piano Academy), tout en conservant un lien fort avec son Maroc natal. C’est ainsi qu’il y fera dix ans plus tard une rencontre décisive qui changera le cours de sa vie et qui lui ouvrira les portes du mysticisme soufi populaire : le prestigieux maalem gnaoui Mahmoud Guinea.

Idriss El Mehdi apprend à jouer du Guembri et forge son identité musicale : « Moi, le pianiste habitué depuis tant d’années à avoir à ma disposition 88 notes de musique pour m’exprimer, je me trouvais face à 3 simples cordes faites de boyaux de chèvre. Et dans ses cordes demeurait toute l’histoire de la musique, depuis sa création. »

Le jeune homme démarre alors une série d’expériences avec différentes formations, entre afro-jazz, chansons à textes et collaborations avec des grands noms de la pop  et du rock français (Axel Bauer, Calogero, Julie Zenatti, Hubert Mounier…) et internationaux (Cerrone, Luz Casal, Gary Christian…).

Le natif de Casablanca puise dans son identité multiple, entre ses racines africaines et sa culture musicale anglo-saxonne rock et blues,  la matière nécessaire pour la composition de ce premier disque, « Wild Bird ». Ainsi il ravive l’esprit blues acoustique, en y ajoutant du rythme. Il fait cohabiter avec intelligence une basse lourde au son granuleux, une guitare aux slides vertigineux, un jeu de piano minimaliste, le tout porté par une section rythmique puissante.